Ethel’s Sugar Cookies

Valentine’s day is coming on Tuesday, so I thought I would post some cookies I have made for at least 20 years.  When my kids were little, I found this recipe somewhere, I really don’t remember where.  I started out making Christmas cookies and had so much fun, I just kept going with all the holidays, birthdays and just for fun.  I think Katie and Chris have eaten more of these cookies than any other cookie combined.  For fun, I decided to make some for my son Chris, who is a Junior at the University of Oklahoma.  I really had to take in consideration that he really is a young man now and I couldn’t go crazy in my decorations, plus cookies ship better if you keep them simple.

Ethel’s Sugar Cookies

Cream Together:

  • 1/4     cup butter flavored shortening
  • 1/2     cup butter
  • 2         eggs
  • 1          cup sugar
  • 1          tsp. vanilla

Sift Together:

  • 2 1/2   cup flour
  • 1           tsp. salt
  • 1           tsp. baking powder

Cream shortening, butter, and sugar in mixing bowl.  Add eggs and vanilla and mix until smooth.  Sift all dry ingredients together.  Add to cream mixture slowly, making sure you get all the dough mixed well.  Cover dough and refrigerate for at least 3 hours before using.

On a floured surface, roll out dough to 1/4 inch thickness and use cookies cutters to make your shapes.  Place on cookie sheet 1 inch apart.  Bake @400 degrees until light brown, usually about 7 – 8 minutes.  Take cookies off cookie sheet when it comes out of the oven and place on wire rack and let cool.  After cookies are cooled, frost with your favorite frosting.  I like to make everything from scratch, but this is the one area I do use boxed frosting.  I have always used Jiffy’s white frosting mix, it is simple to make and delicious!  Happy Valentine Day’s!

Comments

  1. YUMMMMM!!!

